your career assistant

Unusual Jobs of Today & Yesteryear

Posted on: November 24, 2008

Why hello there, job-seekers!!

I know how the job hunt can get old and tiring pretty fast, so I thought I’d post something a little more fun today that is both interesting and hilarious at the same time. You may have heard about “strange” occupations elsewhere, especially on TV with shows out there about dirty jobs, dangerous jobs, etc., but what about historical odd jobs? I don’t hear about those as much. And when I do, they certainly don’t have titles like these! How would you like to call your mom and tell her that you just got a new job as a “Gent at Large” (or perhaps a “Lady at Large”)? Who knows what that occupation entailed! I wonder what the requirements were…

That particular occupation showed up on the 1880 U.S. census, along with many other amusing careers such as “Outlaw”, “Inspector of Lunch”, and “Boot Clicker”. It seems like people were more free to create their own job titles back then perhaps!
Of course there were plenty of other jobs listed that would be expected to have been popular during those times as well. In fact, the top three careers that appeared were farmer/employed on a farm, laborer, and servant.
For the complete article about popular and unusual jobs found on the 1880 census, check out:

PR Newswire

And for some modern day (I think) jobs with crazy titles, and even crazier descriptions, I found a small list at the site below. But watch out, some of them are quite gross…”Brain Picker”…??

Fun Facts & Trivia


So now that you’ve all had a good laugh, maybe it’ll make you appreciate your chosen field/profession and give you more motivation to find that job you’ve always been searching for, before you end up applying to be a “Bone Crusher”, or something of the sort. Not that anything is wrong with that being someone’s job of course…I mean somebody has to do it, right! That work has to get done somehow. I’m just glad it isn’t me doing it…And if the job you want happens to be something found on one of these lists, then you may be in luck, since I don’t think you’ll have much competition to worry about!

Well, good luck with the job hunt everyone, and remember to check back to my blogs often to see the latest company profile and job info I’ve added. My other blog can be found at careergenie.wordpress.com.